Posted by: Clare | 15 November 2011

Sea life: Basket stars (up close)

Basket star in repose on Tafelberg Reef

Basket star in repose on Tafelberg Reef

According to Georgina Jones’s wonderful reference guide, basket stars are usually seen clinging to sea fans, bt they may cling directly to the rocks or the reef when there are no sea fans present. This is particularly evident on deeper reefs – and indeed, when we dived Tafelberg Reef recently, we saw several basket stars sitting flat on the reef.

Basket star tentacles

Basket star tentacles

I used the opportunity to visit some of them close up. These creatures are so detailed and complex that such an inspection is rewarded. I think that they are one of my favourite things in the sea.

Close up of a basket star

Close up of a basket star


Responses

  1. I would agree, the Basket starfish are beautifull, I am using a pic of 1 on my business cards as well.

    NIce shots Clare.

    I was lucky once to see 1 with all its arms fully extended and was over a meter long with all the arms making a massive Fan.

    Carel


Leave a comment

Categories